Major League 7 Collection - East-West League (1932)

Major League 7 Collection - East-West League (1932)

As part of our new collection, Major League 7 - today we celebrate the East-West League which played in 1932.


MLB announced in 2020 that seven Negro Leagues would be elevated to "Major League" status. The seven leagues that comprised the Negro Leagues of 1920-1948 were the Negro National League (I) (1920–1931); the Eastern Colored League (1923–1928); the American Negro League (1929); the East-West League (1932); the Negro Southern League (1932); the Negro National League (II) (1933–1948); and the Negro American League (1937–1948).


The East-West League featured among others:

  • Baltimore Black Sox
  • Cleveland Stars
  • Cuban Stars
  • Detroit Wolves
  • Homestead Grays
  • New York Black Yankees
  • Pittsburgh Crawfords
  • Washington Pilots


Organized by league legend Cumberland Posey (who would go on to be elected to both the Baseball and Basketball Halls of Fame.

The league was notable as the first league covering multiple geographic regions (Eastern and Midwestern).


  • 1932 – No champion selected