Major League 7 Collection - Negro Southern League (1932)

Major League 7 Collection - Negro Southern League (1932)

As part of our new collection, Major League 7 - today we celebrate the Negro Southern League which played in 1932.


MLB announced in 2020 that seven Negro Leagues would be elevated to "Major League" status. The seven leagues that comprised the Negro Leagues of 1920-1948 were the Negro National League (I) (1920–1931); the Eastern Colored League (1923–1928); the American Negro League (1929); the East-West League (1932); the Negro Southern League (1932); the Negro National League (II) (1933–1948); and the Negro American League (1937–1948).


The Negro Southern League featured among others:

  • Atlanta Black Crackers
  • Cole's American Giants
  • Indianapolis ABCs
  • Louisville Black Caps
  • Memphis Grey Sox
  • Memphis Red Sox
  • Monroe Monarchs
  • Nashville Elite Giants


The Negro Southern League was formed after many years of playing as Independent or Minor leagues, when other Negro Leagues ceased operation and then the league formed as an official league.


  • 1932 – Cole's American Giants