A League of Their Own Turns 30

A League of Their Own Turns 30

There may not be any crying in Baseball, but the tears will be flowing on July 1, 2022 when A League of Their Own celebrates the 30th anniversary of its release.

The Penny Marshall directed movie was a critical and commercial success, and is currently ranked among the greatest Baseball movies of all time. In 2012, the movie was added to the National Film Registry in the Library of Congress for being "culturally, historically, and aesthetically significant."


The movie celebrates the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League, who played from 1943-1954. Penny Marshall was inspired to make the movie after seeing the 1987 Documentary A League of their Own.

The film stars Tom Hanks, Geena Davis, Madonna, Lori Petty, Rosie O'Donnell, Anne Ramsay, Megan Cavanagh, Tracy Reiner, Ann Cusack, Jon Lovitz, David Strathairn, Garry Marshall, Bill Pullman, Janet Jones and Tea Leoni. Closing credits included many real players including Shirley Burkovich who played for the Chicago Colleens, Springfield Sallies, and Rockford Peaches.


There's no crying in Baseball

Tom Hanks character Jimmy Dugan's remark, "There's no crying in baseball!", is one of the most quoted lines in movie history.

A League of Their Own the TV series will debut on Amazon on August 12, 2022.

Get your Teambrown Apparel AAGPBL gear here.