WHM - Claire Smith - Hall of Famer

WHM - Claire Smith - Hall of Famer

WHM - Bianca Smith & Katie Krall Reading WHM - Claire Smith - Hall of Famer 1 minute Next Ruth Richard
This week we continue our celebration of Women's History Month with a salute to Claire Smith, the first female winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award and a member of the Baseball Hall of Fame.
The Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism at the University of Maryland’s Philip Merrill College of Journalism created The Sam Lacy-Wendell Smith Award to be presented annually in conjunction with the Shirley Povich Symposium to a sports journalist or broadcaster who has made significant contributions to racial and gender equality in sports.
Claire Smith was named the first winner of the Sam Lacy-Wendell Smith Award Other winners - William C. Rhoden and James Brown - http://www.espnfrontrow.com/2013/10/claire-smith-named-first-winner-of-the-sam-lacy-wendell-smith-award/
Claire Smith pictured here at the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
In 2017, the J.G. Taylor Spink Award which had previously been awarded to Wendell Smith and Sam Lacy was awarded to Claire Smith - https://baseballhall.org/discover/claire-smith-reflects-on-winning-spink-award
Claire Smith - 2017, the J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner
Celebrate baseball’s pioneers by wearing the colors of the All American Girls Professional Baseball League - https://www.teambrownapparel.com/collection-aagpbl-shop

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Customer service

Available - M-F (PST) - 888-657-8339